Look out world, here we are!

Look out world, we’re the Kyles Twins.  We were born today, Tuesday, the Nineteenth day of April, in the Year of Our Lord the Two Thousand and Eleventh.

The first thing we noticed is … our parents are old.  I mean, they look tired and ragged already and we are just getting started.  How are they ever going to keep up with us?

Now that we’re here, I guess it’s time for some introductions.  I am Arthur Lewis Kyles.  I was born at 5:05 p.m and I’m the oldest by about 5 minutes.  My fighting weight is 4 pounds, 2 ounces.  I am very proud to be named after my granddaddy, Lewis Kyles.  They tell me my first namesake was a wise and just king whose lifelong mission was to protect the weak from the strong.  Everyone knows at least some stories of King Arthur and his knights.

Hi, I am Roland Charles Kyles.  I was born at 5:10 p.m.   I weigh 3  pounds and 12 ounces, but don’t let my size fool you though, I am a tough guy.  I am really proud to be named after my daddy.  Do you know who my first namesake is?  Roland was a paladin in the service of Charlemagne who defended the weak and held back the Dark Ages in Europe.  He grew into a legendary figure over the centuries.

We both came out crying and peeing all over the place.  Mommy and Daddy got to hold us a few minutes before we had to go to the nursery.  Mommy is tired, but doing good.  Daddy is excited.

We are anxious to take on the world, but they tell us the world isn’t quite ready for us yet, so the doctors and nurses are going to keep us here at the NICU for a while.  We aren’t allowed very many visitors, but mommy and daddy can spend time with us, and our grandmommies can come in.  The rest of you will have to wait until we are home.

About Arthur & Roland

We are the Kyles Twins and this is our blog. Our parents are old. We plan to use this blog to share our experiences breaking them in to the joys of parenting twins. Boy are they in for a ride!
This entry was posted in 0-3 Months, Pictures. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Look out world, here we are!

  1. brad hunnicutt says:

    Hi, Guys,
    Welcome to the world! So glad you’re here. Thanks for the witty updates. Stay strong. See you soon.
    Hugs from,
    Brad

  2. Carol says:

    Congratulations, Kyles family!

  3. Tracy Comer says:

    Welcome to the world, Arthur and Roland! I’ve been watching all day for news of your arrival and I know there are LOTS of other folks who have been doing the same. I hope to meet you very soon! (This summer probably — around late June/early July, and that’s not too far off. ) In the meantime I’ll be anxious to see photos.

    I know you’ll keep your parents VERY busy but it will be good for them. Tee hee. And hey, by the way, I don’t happen to think they are very old (of course I’m a few years older than them…).
    XOXO
    Tracy

  4. Shawn, Craig, and Isaiah says:

    Welcome, guys, and congratulations to your (old 8-p) folks! We can’t wait to meet you.

  5. Ted and Allie Giro says:

    Arthur and Roland. Such strong, honorable names! Welcome to you both! You beat the rush of upcoming births in the neighborhood and will therefore garner the most attention! Apollo and Ping Pong said they’re OK with sharing the spotlight in the Kyles’ house with you. 🙂

    Wishing the best to the whole family!

    -Ted and Allie

  6. Kelly Walsh says:

    Congratulations Jenny and Chip! Your friends here at Talecris are thrilled for you (especially me 🙂
    I’m so pleased for you that they stayed in that oven so long and have healthy birth weights…hope everyone gets to go home soon.

    Welcome to the world and to some great parents Arthur and Roland!!!

    Best,

    Kelly

  7. Emily says:

    Welcome to the world!!! you guys look healthy and strong!!! Congratulations to mom and dad and enjoy the rest of the stay in the hospital!! the fun begins at home!!!

Leave a Reply

