Together at Last

Arthur & Roland: We got to move to the intermediate nursery yesterday! We’ll stay here until we go home. It’s cozier than the intensive care area. We have our own area to share, instead of being in a pod with a central station.

Roland: The doctors say I am doing a really good job of maintaining my temperature now, so I don’t have to stay in the isolette any more. I have worked really hard at it. For me, that means sleeping a whole lot. Sleeping helps me use my energy for growing, keeping my temperature good, and learning to make my heart beat like it’s supposed to. If my temperature has problems I might have to go back into the isolette, but I’m getting stronger, so maybe I won’t have to do that!

Arthur: I’ve been in a bassinet for a couple of days and my temperature is great! We both got rid of the pulsometers that were on our feet. Yay for having one less wire hanging off of us!
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Knockin' noggins

Roland: OK, we’ve saved the best for last. We get to share a crib now! We hadn’t been next to each other or touched each other since we were born. Mommy cried when she got to see us side by side for the first time (it seems like Mommy cries a lot). Even though I haven’t gained as much weight as they said I should before moving out of the isolette, the doctors feel like I will be fine in the crib. I’m excited about that!

Roland: I love my punkin-headed brother

Arthur: Even though it will be a while before we get to go home, we are doing well. We have to meet certain goals in order to go home and we are working on them every day. We’re still practicing nursing, but mostly we get Mommy’s milk through our nasogastric tubes.

Roland: We still sleep a LOT. In fact, that’s what we do most of the time. Mommy does something called kangaroo care, which means she takes off our shirts and holds us against her skin. She does this while she uses a funny machine to get more milk for us. We like kangaroo care!

We love our grandmas!

Mommy said the doctor told her it helps us have better brains. We think we already have pretty good brains, but I guess it’s always good to have more brains! Arthur thinks he is smarter because he has a bigger head, but I know he is just teasing me.

About Arthur & Roland

We are the Kyles Twins and this is our blog. Our parents are old. We plan to use this blog to share our experiences breaking them in to the joys of parenting twins. Boy are they in for a ride!
This entry was posted in 0-3 Months, Pictures, The Twins. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Together at Last

  1. Sharon McClure says:

    Great news guys!! Keep up the good work! I expect in no time at all you’ll be home keeping mommy and daddy up into the wee hours of the night! You’ll have to talk to your twin cousins and they can tell you ALL about how to do that right! 🙂

  2. Nana says:

    Oh, Nana thinks she will cry too… I’m so excited to see you guys together.
    I love your little outfits.. How cute you two are.

Leave a Reply

