Twoweekaversary

Arthur and Roland: Today is our Twoweekaversary! We’re really moving along. In four more weeks we’ll be considered “term”. At that point we will be actual age 6 weeks but adjusted age zero weeks. This will be important for judging whether we’re meeting developmental milestones. For example, if a baby can usually grasp objects when they are 8 weeks old, we might not do it until we are 14 weeks old, but that’s normal and OK for us. By the time we are a year old, we’ll be caught up with all of the other babies.

Yay! Daddy is holding us both at the same time!

Roland: When I was born I weighed 3 lb, 12 oz. Like all babies, Arthur and I lost some weight before we started going up again My lowest weight was 3 lb, 5 oz. My big brother started at 4 lb, 2 oz. and went down to 3 lb, 12 oz.

Arthur: Yeh, but now we’re back! As of today, I weigh 4 lb, 9oz and Roland weighs 4 lb, 2 oz! We’re gaining weight every day!

We know, we know... we're just too cute!

Roland: We’ve come a long way since we were born. We’re starting to fill out and we don’t have that red, wrinkly look like we did when we were first born. The nurse told Mommy that we can see shadows when we open our eyes, but that later we’ll be able to see actual stuff like Mommy and Daddy’s faces.

Arthur: Yep, but we don’t need to see them to know when they’re around. We know their smell and voices and touch.

Roland: I’m still having episodes of bradycardia (where my heart slows down too much), but the doctor says that I’m able to pull myself out of them, and that it’s just another one of those things I’ll grow out of. It scares Mommy when it happens because my monitor turns red and makes a loud noise, but the doctor said she won’t let me go home until she is sure it won’t be a problem.

Roland: Daddy loves holding me. (Arthur: Hey! he loves holding me too!)

Arthur: I don’t have that problem, but it’s probably because I’m bigger.  Nursing is really hard though. I think it’s harder for me than for Roland. They’re making us drink from bottles. We have to prove that we can get all of our nutrition without the nasogastric tube before we can go home, but we won’t be strong enough to do that with nursing until we’re a lot older. So Mommy hates it and grumbles but she lets us drink from bottles. I like it because all I have to do is open my mouth and the milk just goes in. Why should I work hard to nurse if I can just get it so easily from a bottle?

Roland: Arthur, you have to work for good things! I don’t like the bottle. I still prefer to nurse, even though I can’t really get enough that way yet. Every time they try to give me one of those things I fight about it. Sometimes I’ll drink from it but I have to be in just the right mood.

Arthur: We’re tired again so we’re going to sleep. One of these days Mommy or Daddy will get a picture of us with our eyes open!

About Arthur & Roland

We are the Kyles Twins and this is our blog. Our parents are old. We plan to use this blog to share our experiences breaking them in to the joys of parenting twins. Boy are they in for a ride!
This entry was posted in 0-3 Months, Pictures, The Twins. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Twoweekaversary

  1. Nana says:

    Hey, adorable pictures. I love the one of Chip holding Arthur and Roland!
    Wow, you guys have gained so much weight.. yipeeeeeeeeee

Leave a Reply

